Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Audit Committee

Monday, March 29, 1999


The Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) Audit Committee met on Monday, March 29 at 11:00 a.m. Room 314 Lorenzo de Zavala State Archives and Library Building in Austin.

Audit Committee Present

Carolyn Palmer Armstrong

Patrick Heath, Chair

Sandy Melton

Commission Members Present:

Kenneth Carr

Sandra Pickett

Marvin Rich

Members Absent: No members absent.

Staff Present:

Robert Martin, Director and Librarian

Raymond Hitt, Assistant State Librarian

Jenifer Flaxbart, Director, Talking Book Program

Michael Heskett, Director, State and Local Records Management

Jeanette Larson, Director, Library Development

Michael Piper, Director, Library Resource Sharing Division

Ed Seidenberg, Director, Administration

Carol Winship, Director, Technical Services Division

Nancy Webb, Public Information Officer

Patty Davis, Library Development

John Anderson, Archives Division

Michele Lamb, Executive Secretary

Guest Present:

Russell Gregorczyk, Auditor

return to top

Commissioner Heath called to order the TSLAC Audit Committee at 11:00 a.m.

Commissioner Heath stated that formally the Audit Committee members are Ms. Armstrong, Mrs. Pickett and his self.

1. Internal Audit of the State and Local Records Division.

Commissioner Heath requested to hear from Russell Gregorczyk and Michael Heskett regarding Page 5, Recommendation 3, incentives to state agencies to help equalize workloads. Mr. Gregorczyk commented that such an incentive program would provide work earlier in the year. He continued by suggesting a customer survey, which would identify customers who would take advantage of SLRM incentives. Michael Heskett concurred with the audit recommendations but is skeptical about the success of incentives. He added that incentives would increase efficiency rather than revenue.

Mrs. Melton commented on the high customer satisfaction reflecting SLRM, however she agrees with the recommendation to encourage cross training.

Michael Heskett answered response to Recommendation six recurring complaint. difficult and bureaucratic .what can be done to decrease or eliminate this problem. See some way within less than five years to see if we make progress. Survey to address complaints. Changed manner of State schedules which should now be easier and more time efficient. Cut turn around time in half.

Commissioner Melton moved to approve the Audit of SLRM for recommendation to the full Commission. Commissioner Armstrong seconded the motion. Motion passed.

return to top

2. Discuss and Approve Audit of the El Paso Public Library.

Russell Gregorczyk, per Commissioner Heath's request, briefed the Commission regarding the El Paso audit and his recommendations. He noted that library staff disagreed with some of the recommendations.

Commissioner Rich asked Mr. Gregorczyk when he reviews the status of his recommendations. Mr. Gregorczyk said that historically he did not check on the implementation of a recommendation unless requested. If so requested, he would follow up six to twelve months after the initial audit.

Commissioner Heath requested that Mr. Gregorczyk explain the differences of opinion between his self and TSLAC staff. Mr. Gregorczyk commented that recommendations are directed towards TSLAC staff. Mr. Gregorczyk believes that TSLAC staff should require implementation for allowable allocation method for charging salaries among grants and grant budget categories. Items such as salaries should be based on time sheets or other documentation as outlined in the Uniform Grants and Contracts Management Standards (UGCMS) Handbook. Mr. Gregorczyk also recommended that a correction should be made for any salary and fringe benefit charges that were based on budgeted percentages.

Jeanette Larson, commented that staff concurs that developing an allocation method is necessary, however staff does not concur that corrections in salary and fringe benefits should be retroactive as of September 1, 1998.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert S. Martin

Director and Librarian

return to top

Page last modified: June 8, 2011