Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Audit Committee

Thursday, July 8, 1999


The Texas State Library & Archives Commission (TSLAC) Audit Committee met on Thursday, July 8, 1999 at 10:00 a.m. in Room 314, Lorenzo de Zavala State Archives and Library Building, Austin, Texas.

Audit Committee Present:

Carolyn Palmer Armstrong

Patrick Heath, Chairman

Sandy Melton

Commissioners Present:

Kenneth Carr

Sandra Pickett

Marvin Rich

Members Absent: No members absent.

Staff Present:

Robert Martin, Director and Librarian

Raymond Hitt, Assistant State Librarian

Charles Brown, Director, Information Resources Technologies

Jenifer Flaxbart, Director, Talking Book Program

Michael Heskett, Director, State and Local Records Management

Chris LaPlante, Director, Archives and Information Services

Jeanette Larson, Director, Library Development

Michael Piper, Director, Library Resource Sharing

Ed Seidenberg, Director, Administration

Carol Winship, Director, Technical Services

Debra Littrell, Library Resource Sharing

Beverley Shirley, Library Resource Sharing

Erica Lester, Executive Secretary

Guests Present:

Russell Gregorczyk, Auditor

return to top

Commissioner Heath called the Audit Committee to order at 10:11 a.m.

1. Approve minutes of March 29 and May 17 Audit Committee meetings.

Commissioner Heath announced the March 29 and May 17 Audit Committee minutes approved by common consent.

2. Internal Audit of grants to Abilene Public Library.

Russell Gregorczyk gave a brief overview of the audit recommendations. Mr. Gregorczyk reported that the Abilene audit was favorable.

After some discussion concerning storage of electronic records, Commissioner Armstrong moved to accept the Internal Audit of Grants to Abilene Public Library as corrected; Commissioner Melton seconded. Motion passed.

3. Audit Plan for FY 2000.

Russell Gregorczyk discussed the Audit Plan and answered questions from the Commission. Mr. Gregorczyk recommended auditing the following four areas in FY 2000:

  1. Archives and Information Services Division
  2. TSLAC Grants made to the El Paso Public Library
  3. TSLAC Grants made to the Corpus Christi Public Library
  4. TSLAC Grants made to the Lubbock Public Library

The Commissioners recommended the risk factor "Time Since Last Audit or Review" be further broken down for FY 2000.

After some discussion, Commissioner Armstrong moved to accept the Audit Plan as written; Commissioner Melton seconded. Motion passed.

4. Authorization to request offers and/or renew contract for Internal Audit Services

Raymond Hitt recommended the Commission renew the contract with Russell Gregorczyk for FY 2000.

After some discussion, Commissioner Melton moved to retain Russell Gregorczyk for Internal Audit Services for FY 2000; Commissioner Armstrong seconded. Motion passed.

With no further business, Chairman Heath adjourned the Audit Committee at 10:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert S. Martin

Director and Librarian

return to top

Page last modified: June 8, 2011