Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Audit Committee

Tuesday, February 6, 2001


The Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) Audit Committee met on Tuesday, February 6, 2001, at 1:00 p.m. at the State and Local Records Management facility at 4400 Shoal Creek in Austin.

Audit Committee Present:

Kenneth Carr

Carolyn Palmer

Commissioners Present:

Chris A. Brisack

Elizabeth Sanders

Commissioners Absent:

Sandra Pickett, Chairman

Sandy Melton

Staff Present:

Manuel Alvarez, Director, Information Resources Technologies

Jenifer Flaxbart, Director, Talking Book Program

Michael Heskett, Director, State and Local Records Management

Deborah Littrell, Director, Library Development

Donna Osborne, Director, Administrative Services

Michael Piper, Director, Library Resource Sharing

Troy Hoyles, Talking Book Program

Vanessa Siordia, Administrative Services

Erica McKewen, Communications Officer

Guests Present:

Russell Gregorczyk, Auditor

return to top

Chairman Palmer convened the meeting at 1:00 p.m.


1. Audit report on Library Resource Sharing Division.

Russell Gregorczyk spoke with the Commission about the Library Resource Sharing (LRS) Division audit recommendations. Gregorczyk stated that online databases are exempt from state purchasing oversight and recommended purchasing training for LRS staff. Gregorczyk suggested the management monitor workflow for the Texas State Publications Depository Program, also known as the Publications Clearinghouse. He also recommended reconciling incoming fees with receipts from the Comptroller. Gregorczyk continually emphasized the improvement of documentation. After some discussion of the report, Commissioner Carr moved to recommend approval to the full commission the LRS audit; Chairman Palmer seconded. Motion passed.

With no further business, Chairman Palmer adjourned the meeting at 1:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy D. Rudd

Director and Librarian


return to top

Page last modified: June 8, 2011