Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Audit Committee

Monday, September 20, 2004


The Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) Audit Committee met on Monday, September 20, 2004, at 10:04 a.m., in the Library of the Jean and Price Daniel House, located at the Sam Houston Regional Library and Research Center in Liberty, TX.

Audit Committee Present:

Elizabeth Sanders, Audit Chairman

Cruz G. Hernandez

Commissioners Present:

Sandra J. Pickett

Diana Rae Hester Cox

Martha Doty Freeman

Chris A. Brisack

Commissioners Absent:

Sandra G. Holland

Staff Present:

Peggy D. Rudd, director and librarian

Edward Seidenberg, assistant state librarian

Michael Heskett, director, State and Local Records Management

Ava Smith, director, Talking Book Program

Deborah Littrell, director, Library Development

Donna Osborne, director, Administrative Services

Chris LaPlante, director, Archives and Information Services

Beverley Shirley, director, Library Resource Sharing

Manuel Alvarez, director, Information Resource Technologies

Liz DeMoss, executive assistant

Guests Present:

Ann Crockett, Houston Area Library System

Bill Crockett, Houston Area Library System

Meller Langford Allen, coordinator, Houston Area Library System

J. Andrew Rice, Tarkington Community Library

Ruth Stetson, Tarkington Community Library

Susan Rice, Tarkington Community Library

Chris Nunn, Tarkington Community Library

Marvin A. Rich

A quorum being present, Audit Chairman Sanders convened the meeting at 10:04 a.m.


Manuel Alvarez presented an audit by Jefferson Wells on the Information Resource Technologies division of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. Mr. Alvarez summarized the audit and noted that the agency had begun putting together a Business Continuity Planning group, to be led by himself and Donna Osborne. This workgroup would serve to answer many of the questions presented by the audit.

Audit Committee chairman Sanders thanked Mr. Alvarez for his presentation and opened the floor for questions. Commissioner Hernandez moved that the committee approve the Internal Audit of the Information Resources Technologies Function. Audit Committee chairman Sanders seconded. Motion passed.


Edward Seidenberg presented a Fraud Prevention Program that had been completed by agency staff and summarized the three main parts, Culture of Honesty and Ethics, Anti-Fraud Processes and Controls, and Appropriate Oversight Process.

Audit Committee Chairman Sanders opened the floor for questions. Commissioner Hernandez asked if the agency had ever had the occasion to bring in an outside group to investigate fraud or would they be willing to, should the cause arise. Mr. Seidenberg responded that the agency had not had the need to bring an outside group in the past but would certainly be willing to, should cause arise

Commissioner Hernandez moved to accept the agency fraud prevention program. Audit Committee chairman Sanders seconded. Motion passed.

Mr. Seidenberg noted, for the information of the commissioners, that one of the cost saving measures passed in the last legislature was the reduction of the ratio between Human Resources staff and agency employees down to one staff person for every 85 employees. To comply with these cost saving measures, 1-¾ full time employees have been transferred to other functions of the Administrative Services division.

There being no further business, Audit Chairman Sanders adjourned the meeting at 10:16 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy D. Rudd

Director and Librarian



return to top

Page last modified: June 8, 2011