Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Friday, June 15, 2007 11:00 a.m.

Audit Committee Minutes

The Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) Audit Committee met on Friday, June 15, 2007 at 11:00 a.m. at the State and Local Records Management facility, 4400 Shoal Creek Boulevard, Austin, Texas. 

Audit Committee Present:           Cruz G. Hernandez, vice chairman

                                                Sally Reynolds

Audit Committee Absent:           Sandra G. Holland, chairman


Commissioners Present:            Sandra Pickett, chairman

                                                Diana Rae Hester Cox

                                                Sharon T. Carr

                                                Martha Doty Freeman


Commissioners Absent:             None


Staff Present:                            Peggy D. Rudd, director and librarian

                                                Edward Seidenberg, assistant state librarian

                                                Ava Smith, director, Talking Book Program

                                                Deborah Littrell, director, Library Development

                                                Beverley Shirley, director, Library Resource Sharing

                                                Chris LaPlante, director, Archives and Information Services

                                                Michael Heskett, director, State and Local Records Management

                                                Erica McKewen, communications officer

                                                Tracy Kuhn Lash, executive assistant

                                                Michael Ford, project coordinator, Information Resources Technologies

                                                Coby Condrey, coordinator, Texas State Publications Depository

                                                Myra Zatopek, continuing education consultant, Library Development

                                                Naomi DiTullio, distance learning consultant, Library Development

                                                Christine McNew, youth services consultant, Library Development

                                                Chris Jowaisas, systems grants administrator, Library Development

                                                Tine Walzczyk, library technology consultant, Library Development


Guests Present:                         Robert DuPuy, Jefferson Wells

                                                Laurie Mahaffey, Central Texas Library System


A quorum being present, Vice Chairman Hernandez convened the meeting at 11:00 a.m.

1.  Review and approve Internal Audit of the State Publications Depository Program.

Edward Seidenberg informed the committee that the Jefferson Wells auditor, Carleton Wilkes, who conducted the audit, had a conflict and would be joining the meeting late.  He introduced Robert DuPuy, business development manager for Jefferson Wells’ Austin office.  Mr. Seidenberg said that the audit of the State Publications Depository Program found no weaknesses but did identify three areas for improvement:

  • transition program to a depository of principally electronic information to improve efficiency and effectiveness,
  • improve internal performance measures to include greater use and consistent reporting of quantitative measures, and
  • update procedural manuals.

2.  Review and approve Evaluation of Compliance with Information Technology Requirements (1 TAC 202).

Edward Seidenberg addressed the committee regarding the Evaluation of Compliance with Information Technology Requirements conducted by Jefferson Wells.    The audit found the agency in substantial compliance with 1 TAC 202 except for a completed, agency-wide Business Continuity Plan.  The agency has been working on this since 2006 but has not completed.  

Vice Chairman Hernandez moved to approve the Internal Audit of the State Publications Depository Program.  Commissioner Reynolds seconded.  Motion passed.  Commissioner Reynolds moved to approve the Evaluation of Compliance with Information Technology Requirements.  Vice Chairman Hernandez seconded.  Motion passed.

There being no further business before the Audit Committee, Vice Chairman Hernandez adjourned the meeting at 11:19 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy D. Rudd

Peggy D. Rudd

Director and Librarian

Page last modified: June 8, 2011