Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Monday, August 4, 2008 11:30 a.m.

Audit Committee Minutes

The Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) Audit Committee was scheduled to meet on Monday, August 4, 2008 at 11:30 a.m., at the State Records Center, 4400 Shoal Creek Boulevard in Austin, Texas.

Audit Committee Present:
Cruz G. Hernandez, chairman

Scott McAfee

Michael C. Waters
Commissioners Present:
Sandra Pickett, chairman

Sharon T. Carr

Martha Doty Freeman

Sally Reynolds
Staff Present:
Peggy D. Rudd, director and librarian

Edward Seidenberg, assistant state librarian

Chris LaPlante, director, Archives and Information Services

Ava Smith, director, Talking Book Program

Deborah Littrell, director, Library Development

Beverley Shirley, director, Library Resource Sharing

Michael Heskett, director, State and Local Records Management

Manuel Alvarez, director, Information Resources Technologies

Karen Drabek, director, Administrative Services

Tracy Kuhn Lash, executive assistant

Nanette Pfiester, manager, Records Management Assistance

Ann Mason, Texshare coordinator

Peggy Oster, graphics artist/photographer
Guests Present:
Carleton Wilkes, Tatum, LLC

Thom Hanson, retired TSLAC employee

Elizabeth Swan, Houston Area Library System


A quorum being present, Chairman Hernandez convened the meeting at 11:33 a.m.

1. Review and approve the Internal Audit of Selected Controls of the TANG and System Grant Programs.

Carleton Wilkes presented results and responded to questions regarding the internal audit of the Technical Assistance Negotiated Grant (TANG) and the Library System Operation Grant (SYSTEM), two grant programs administered by the Library Development Division of TSLAC. No significant weaknesses were found; he recommended that management update documentation of internal procedures, create a tool kit of best practices and continue with upgrades to its new online system. He also recommended that management improve efficiency by using an executive summary report on key grant activities.

Commissioner McAfee moved to approve the audit. Commissioner Waters seconded. Motion passed.

There being no further business before the Audit Committee, Chairman Hernandez adjourned the meeting at 11:50 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy D. Rudd

Peggy D. Rudd

Director and Librarian

Page last modified: June 8, 2011