Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Audit Committee
August 12, 2011


The Texas State Library and Archives Commission Audit Committee met on Friday, August, 12, 2011, in the Lorenzo de Zavala State Archives and Library Building, 1201 Brazos Street, Austin, Texas.


Committee Present:                  Michael C. Waters, chairman

                                              Larry G. Holt

                                              Wm. Scott McAfee


Commissioners Present:              Sandra J. Pickett

                                                Sharon T. Carr

                                                Martha Doty Freeman


Commissioners Absent:               Sally Reynolds


Staff Present:                           Peggy D. Rudd, director and librarian

                                                Edward Seidenberg, deputy director

                                                Jelain Chubb, director, Archives and Information Services

                                                Sarah Jacobson, manager, Records Management Assistance

                                                Michael Reagor, government information analyst

                                                Tracy Kuhn Lash, executive assistant

                                                Lynne Margolis, communications specialist

                                                Deborah Littrell, director, Library Development and Networking

                                                Ava Smith, director, Talking Book Program

                                                Vincent Houston, director, Administrative Services

                                                Manuel Alvarez, director, Information Resources Technologies


Guests:                                     Gloria Meraz, Texas Library Association

                                                Frank Vito, Clifton Gunderson, LLC

                                                Tressie Landry, Clifton Gunderson, LLC


Audit Committee Chairman Waters called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m. and introduced Frank Vito who informed the committee that Tressie Landry has been assigned to conduct remaining audits for the agency after the previous auditor left the firm due to relocation. Mr. Vito updated the committee on the status of pending audits and projects for Fiscal Year 2011.

1.      Review and Approve the Audit of Grants Made to the City of Amarillo.

Tressie Landry presented methodology and findings of the Audit of Grants Made to the City of Amarillo and responded to questions from the committee and commission. Commissioner Holt moved to approve the audit. Commissioner McAfee seconded. Motion passed.

2.      Review of the State Office of Risk Management’s Risk Management Program Review and the Corrective Action Plan.

Vincent Houston presented the findings of a Risk Management Program Review of the agency by the State Office of Risk Management and included the agency’s completed Corrective Action Plan. After questions and discussion, Commission Chairman Pickett asked staff to provide further information on specific issues and questions for the next commission meeting. No action was required.

Chairman Waters adjourned the committee at 9:55 a.m.

Page last modified: April 4, 2012