Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Audit Committee
February 11, 2013


The Texas State Library and Archives Commission Audit Committee met on Monday, February 11, 2013, in the Lorenzo de Zavala State Archives and Library Building, 1201 Brazos Street, Austin, Texas.

Committee Present:

Wm. Scott McAfee, chairman

Sharon T. Carr

Larry G. Holt

Commissioners Present:

Michael C. Waters

Martha Doty Freeman

F. Lynwood Givens

Sandra J. Pickett

Staff Present:

Edward Seidenberg, interim director and librarian

Manuel Alvarez, director, Information Resources Technologies

Donna Osborne, director, Administrative Services

Jelain Chubb, director, Archives and Information Services

Craig Kelso, director, State and Local Records Management

Deborah Littrell, director, Library Development and Networking

Ava Smith, director, Talking Book Program

Cesar Garza, communications officer

Tracy Kuhn Lash, executive assistant


Commissioner McAfee called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.
  1. Review of proposed request for qualifications for internal audit services.

Donna Osborne presented an overview of the process and timeline for procuring internal audit services for Fiscal Year 2014 and 2015, and requested approval to post the Request for Qualifications (RFQ) on the Electronic State Business Daily and publish the required notice in the Texas Register. She also requested approval to evaluate RFQ responses and invite top respondents for in-person presentations at the June 3, 2013, commission meeting. Commissioner Carr moved to approve the request. Commissioner Holt seconded. Motion passed.

  1. Review of site visit report by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

Deborah Littrell presented results of an on-site visit conducted by the Institute of Museum and Library Services in September 2012. No action required.

There being no further business before the committee, Commissioner McAfee adjourned the meeting at 9:36 a.m.

Submitted by,


Edward Seidenberg

Interim Director and Librarian


Page last modified: May 6, 2013