Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Audit Committee
April 24, 2013


The Texas State Library and Archives Commission Audit Committee met on Wednesday, April 24, 2013, in the Omni Hotel, 1300 Houston Street, Fort Worth, Texas.

Committee Present:

Wm. Scott McAfee, chairman

Sharon T. Carr

Commissioners Present:

Michael C. Waters

Martha Doty Freeman

F. Lynwood Givens

Sandra J. Pickett

Commissioners Absent:

Larry G. Holt

Staff Present:

Edward Seidenberg, interim director and librarian

Jelain Chubb, director, Archives and Information Services

Craig Kelso, director, State and Local Records Management

Deborah Littrell, director, Library Development and Networking

Ava Smith, director, Talking Book Program

Tracy Kuhn Lash, executive assistant


Joe Thrash, Office of the Attorney General

Pat Tuohy, Connecting Texas Libraries Statewide, Inc.

Gloria Meraz, Texas Library Association


Commissioner McAfee called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m.
  1. Status report on the internal audit procurement process.

Edward Seidenberg provided an update on the procurement process for a new internal audit firm for FY2014 as the contract with the agency’s current auditor expires August 31, 2013, and cannot be renewed. Mr. Seidenberg requested that the Audit Committee authorize the committee and agency staff to evaluate responses and select no more than three qualified respondents to make presentation to the committee and/or full commission at the June 3, 2013, meeting. Commissioner Carr moved to approve. Commissioner McAfee seconded.  Motion passed.

There being no further business before the committee, Commissioner McAfee adjourned the meeting at 8:37 a.m.

Submitted by,


Edward Seidenberg

Interim Director and Librarian


Page last modified: June 17, 2013