Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Audit Committee
June 2, 2014


The Texas State Library and Archives Commission Audit Committee met on Monday, June 2, 2014, in the Lorenzo de Zavala State Archives and Library Building, 1201 Brazos Street, Austin, Texas.

Committee Present:

Wm. Scott McAfee, chairman

Sharon T. Carr

F. Lynwood Givens

Commissioners Present:

Michael C. Waters

Martha Doty Freeman

Larry G. Holt

Sandra J. Pickett

Staff Present:

Mark Smith, director and librarian

Edward Seidenberg, assistant state librarian

Manuel Alvarez, director, Information Resources Technologies

Jelain Chubb, director, Archives and Information Services

Craig Kelso, director, State and Local Records Management

Deborah Littrell, director, Library Development and Networking

Donna Osborne, director, Administrative Services

Ava Smith, director, Talking Book Program

Cesar Garza, communications officer

Tracy Kuhn Lash, executive assistant

Shantil Moore, coordinator, Human Resources


Joe Thrash, Office of the Attorney General

Kim Gonzales, Garza/Gonzalez & Associates

Rene Gonzalez, Garza/Gonzalez & Associates

Rebekah Cannon, Legislative Budget Board

Commissioner McAfee called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.
  1. Review and approve the Internal Audit of Fixed Assets.

Rene Gonzalez presented the Internal Audit of Fixed Assets Management and the agency’s compliance with Texas Government Code, the State Property Accounting system, the State Comptroller’s Guidelines and the agency’s established policies and procedures. Mr. Gonzalez said the audit determined that the agency’s controls are adequate and found no areas of noncompliance but noted that there are opportunities to strengthen internal controls. Commissioner Carr moved to accept the audit. Commissioner Givens seconded. Motion passed.

There being no further business before the committee, Commissioner McAfee adjourned the meeting at 9:41 p.m.


Page last modified: August 12, 2014