Texas State Library and Archives Commission
February 21, 2020


The Texas State Library and Archives Commission met on Thursday, February 21, 2020, in the Lorenzo de Zavala State Archives and Library Building, 1201 Brazos Street, Austin, Texas

Commissioners Present:

Martha Wong, Chair

Larry G. Holt, Vice Chair

F. Lynwood Givens

Bradley S. Tegeler

Darryl Tocker


Staff Present:

Mark Smith, Director and Librarian

Gloria Meraz, Assistant State Librarian

Donna Osborne, Chief Operations and Fiscal Officer

Sarah Swanson, General Counsel

Jelain Chubb, Director, Archives and Information Services

Craig Kelso, Director, State and Local Records Management

Jennifer Peters, Director, Library Development and Networking

Sarah Jacobson, Director, Talking Book Program

Michael Ford, Director, Information Technology Services

Tracy Kuhn Lash, Executive Assistant

Susan Floyd, Communications Officer
  1. Welcome, introductions, and general announcements.

    Chairman Wong called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m. and noted that a quorum was present. Chairman Wong reported that she and Mark Smith had a productive meeting that morning with the Texas Facilities Commission regarding agency concerns about the slow pace of work TFC is handling at the Sam Houston Regional Library and Research Center in Liberty.
  2. Continuation of long-range planning session to discuss strategic initiatives and directions, including preparations for the Agency Strategic Plan 2021-2025 and Legislative Appropriations for Fiscal Years 2022-2023.

    Gloria Meraz presented information on priorities for the governor and legislature and Chairman Wong noted that agency priorities align with the governor’s. Mark Smith lead the commission in a discussion of agency priorities and issues. Commissioners provided input on verbiage and language for the strategic plan and legislative appropriations request as well as strategies and suggestions for staff to connect with the legislature. Mark Smith thanked the commission for their guidance and time. Chairman Wong thanked the commission for participating in the meeting.

    Chairman Wong adjourned the meeting at 11:18 a.m.

Page last modified: June 29, 2020