UGMS Equipment Criteria
Are capital assets and related records maintained in accordance with TSLAC grant requirements?
to document the key requirements for compliance;
documented below; note that these are required in Texas as they are also issued by the
(a) Title. Subject to the obligations and conditions set forth in this section, title to equipment acquired under a grant or subgrant will vest upon acquisition in the grantee or subgrantee respectively.
(b) States. A state will use, manage, and dispose of equipment acquired under a grant by the state in accordance with state laws and procedures. Other grantees and subgrantees will follow paragraphs (c) through (e) of this section. Local governments and other subgrantees shall develop and use their own property management systems, which must conform with all applicable federal, state, and local laws, rules and regulations. If an adequate system for accounting for personal property owned by the local entity is not in place or is not used properly, the Property Accounting System Manual issued by the State Comptroller of Public Accounts will be used as a guide. It is the responsibility of the state awarding agency to provide guidance to local entities on property accountability and to obtain reasonable assurance that proper accountability is being used.
(2) The grantee or subgrantee shall also make equipment available for use on other projects or programs currently or previously supported by the federal or state government, providing such use will not interfere with the work on the projects or program for which it was originally acquired. First preference for other use shall be given to other programs or projects supported by the awarding agency. User fees should be considered if appropriate.
(3) Notwithstanding the encouragement in Section ____.25(a) to earn program income, the grantee or subgrantee must not use equipment acquired with grant funds to provide services for a fee to compete unfairly with private companies that provide equivalent services, unless specifically permitted or contemplated by federal or state statute.
(4) When acquiring replacement equipment, the grantee or subgrantee may use the equipment to be replaced as a trade-in or sell the property and use the proceeds to offset the cost of the replacement property, subject to the approval of the awarding agency.
(2) A physical inventory of the property must be taken and the results reconciled with the property records at least once every two years.
(3) A control system must be developed to ensure adequate safeguards to prevent loss, damage, or theft of the property. Any loss, damage, or theft shall be investigated. Certain types of equipment are classified as “controlled assets”. Users of these standards should contact the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts’ property accounting staff or review the Comptroller’s State Property Accounting User Manual, available on the internet, for the most current listing. Firearms must be maintained on the grantee’s or subrecipient’s inventory system irrespective of cost, and the following equipment with costs between $500 and $1,000 must be maintained on the grantee’s or subrecipient’s inventory system: (1) stereo systems, (2) still and video cameras, (3) facsimile machines, (4) VCRs and VCR/TV combinations and (5) cellular and portable telephones. See Texas Government Code, Sec. 403.271(b) for further information. State awarding agencies may specify special treatment for other items of equipment with costs between $500 and $1,000 or higher with a high potential for loss.
(4) Adequate maintenance procedures must be developed to keep the property in good condition.
(5) If the grantee or subgrantee is authorized or required to sell the property, proper sales procedures must be established to ensure the highest possible return.
(2) Items of equipment with a current per-unit fair market value of $5,000 or more may be retained or sold and the awarding agency shall have a right to an amount calculated by multiplying the current market value or proceeds from sale by the awarding agency’s share of the equipment. Methods used to determine per-unit fair market value must be documented, kept on file and made available to the awarding agency upon request.
(3) In cases where a grantee or subgrantee fails to take appropriate disposition actions, the awarding agency may direct the grantee or subgrantee to take excess and disposition actions.
(2) Grantees or subgrantees will manage the equipment in accordance with federal or state awarding agency rules and procedures, and submit an annual inventory listing.
(3) When the equipment is no longer needed, the grantee or subgrantee will request disposition instructions from the federal or state awarding agency.
(2) The federal or state awarding agency shall issue disposition instructions within 120 calendar days after the end of the federal or state support of the project for which it was acquired. If the federal or state awarding agency fails to issue disposition instructions within the 120 calendar-day period the grantee shall follow Section ____.32 (e).
(3) When title to equipment is transferred, the grantee shall be paid an amount calculated by applying the percentage of participation in the purchase to the current fair market value of the property.