Skip to content

Apply for New Library of Congress Literacy Awards Before April 15th

2013 April 4
by Katherine Adelberg

The Library of Congress is still taking applications for its new Literacy Awards.   The awards will be conferred for the first time in October, 2013 to recognize and support outstanding achievements in the field of literacy, both in the United States and abroad.

Individuals who are  educators, librarians, or community leaders may be considered for the prize, as well as institutions such as libraries, schools, museums, and nonprofits.   Full details and application forms may be accessed at must be received no later than midnight on April 15, 2013.

Three prizes will be awarded annually:

  • The David M. Rubenstein Prize ($150,000) recognizes a groundbreaking or sustained record of advancing literacy worldwide
  • The American Prize ($50,000) honors a project developed and implemented within the past decade that combats illiteracy and/or aliteracy
  • The International Prize ($50,000) celebrates the work of an individual, nation, or nongovernmental organization working in a specific country or region

The awards are made possible through the generosity of philanthropist and entrepreneur David M. Rubenstein, and the program is administered by the Library of Congress’ Center for the Book.  The final selection of winners will be made by the Librarian of Congress, who will draw on the recommendations of an advisory board of distinguished supporters of literacy including Laura Bush, Lynda Johnson Robb, and Caroline Kennedy.

Questions about the awards?  Send your inquiries to



Be Sociable, Share!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS