Skip to content

Apply Now for LITA Awards, Scholarships

2015 October 22

binary technology imageThe Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is currently accepting nominations for several awards and applications for scholarships.  Get detailed information and requirements at Awards include:

  • 2015 Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology – recognizing research relevant to the development of information technologies, in particular research showing promise of having a positive and substantive impact on any aspect of the publication, storage, retrieval and dissemination of information or how information and data are manipulated and managed. The deadline for nominations is Dec. 31, 2015.
  • 2016 LITA/Library Hi Tech Award – recognizing an individual or institution for outstanding achievement in educating the profession about cutting edge technology within the field of library and information technology. The deadline for nominations is Dec. 1, 2015.
  • LITA/Ex Libris Student Writing Award – recognizing the best unpublished manuscript submitted by a student or students enrolled in an ALA-accredited graduate program. The purpose of the award is to recognize superior student writing and to enhance the professional development of students. The manuscript can be written on any aspect of libraries and information technology. The deadline for submission of the manuscript is Feb. 28, 2016.
  • LITA/Christian Larew Memorial Scholarship, LITA/LSSI Minority Scholarship, LITA/OCLC Minority Scholarship – encouraging the entry of qualified persons into the library technology field. The committees seek those who plan to follow a career in library and information technology, who demonstrate potential leadership, who hold a strong commitment to the use of automated systems in libraries and, for the minority scholarships, those who are qualified members of a principal minority group. References, transcripts and other documents must be postmarked no later than March 1, 2016.


Be Sociable, Share!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS