Skip to content

2019 Library of Congress Literacy Awards

2019 January 30
by Kyla Hunt

Sharing for our friends at The Library of Congress.

The Library of Congress invites organizations committed to the advancement of literacy to apply for the 2019 Library of Congress Literacy Awards. Applications will be accepted from January 14 to March 8, 2019. Created and supported by philanthropist David M. Rubenstein, the Literacy Awards Program is designed to broaden and stimulate public understanding of the essential role of literacy in all aspects of society. Organizations may submit applications for one of three major prizes: the David M. Rubenstein Prize ($150,000), the American Prize($50,000) and the International Prize ($50,000). Applications in all categories will also be considered for Best Practice awards of $5,000 each.

Why Apply?

In addition to receiving cash awards, winning organizations and best practices honorees have opportunities to participate in:

A prestigious awards ceremony and reception at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.

An annual conference that encourages peer-to-peer learning, best practices promotion and collaboration. A robust network of literacy professionals working all over the world. The application, rules and other information are available at The deadline for applications is midnight EDT, March 8, 2019.

We would appreciate it if you could share this information with your network and partners from the literacy community.

If you have any additional questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Ricardo E. Gracia Figueroa

Program Specialist

Literacy Awards Program

(202) 707-0596 | For more information about our program please visit

Be Sociable, Share!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS