2001 Texas Reading Club: To the Library and Beyond!

Mark Teague, Illustrator

Biographical Information

Mark Teague has delighted young readers with more than twenty picture books. He has written many of them himself, including the popular Pigsty, The Lost and Found, Baby Tamer, and One Halloween Night. His first children's book, The Trouble with the Johnsons, inspired Publisher's Weekly to name him one of eleven prominent new artists and writers of 1989.

Teague is the illustrator of Cynthia Rylant's beloved Poppleton series for beginning readers. He is also the award-winning illustrator of Tony Johnston's The Iguana Brothers and two picture books by Audrey Wood, The Flying Dragon Room and Sweet Dream Pie, all of which were published to stellar reviews.

Mark Teague provided illustrations based on the Poppleton books for the AMERICA READS CHALLENGE: READ*WRITE*NOW! initiative to help children read well and independently by the end of the third grade. Mark and his wife live in Coxsackie, New York, with their young daughter Lily, who had a great time watching her dad paint the dinosaurs in How Do Dinosaurs Say Good Night?

Selected Books Written and Illustrated

by Mark Teague

  • Teague, Mark. Baby Tamer. Scholastic, 1997.
  • Teague, Mark. How I Spent My Summer Vacation. Dragonfly, 1997.
  • Teague, Mark. The Lost and Found. Scholastic, 1998.
  • Teague, Mark. One Halloween Night. Scholastic, 1999.
  • Teague, Mark. Pigsty. Scholastic, 1994.
  • Teague, Mark. The Secret Shortcut. Scholastic, 1999.

Selected Books Illustrated by Mark Teague

  • Babcock, Chris. No Moon, No Milk. Random House, 1995.
  • Gelman, Rita Golden. Que son los cientificos? Cartwheel, 1995.
  • King-Smith, Dick.Three Terrible Trins. Random House, 1997.
  • Johnston, Tony. The Iguana Brothers : A Tale of Two Lizards. Cartwheels, 1995.
  • King-Smith, Dick. Mr. Potter's Pet. Disney, 1997.
  • Yolen, Jane. How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight? Scholastic, 2000.
  • Rylant, Cynthia. Poppleton by Cynthia. Scholastic, 1997.
  • Rylant, Cynthia. Poppleton and Friends. Scholastic, 1998.
  • Rylant, Cynthia. Poppleton Everyday. Scholastic, 1998.
  • Rylant, Cynthia. Poppleton Forever. Scholastic, 1998.
  • Rylant, Cynthia. Poppleton in Fall. Blue Sky Press, 1999.
  • Rylant, Cynthia. Poppleton in Spring . Scholastic, 1999.
  • Rylant, Cynthia. Poppleton Through and Through. Blue Sky Press, 2000.
  • Wood, Audrey. The Flying Dragon Room. Scholastic, 2000.
  • Wood, Audrey. Sweet Dream Pie. Scholastic, 1998.

Return to 2001 Texas Reading Club Main Page

Page last modified: September 28, 2015