About the Artist: Rod Espinosa

Rod EspinosaRod Espinosa is an artist, author, and the submissions editor for Antarctic Press, a graphic novel company located in San Antonio, Texas. Mr. Espinosa was born in the Philippines and graduated from the Don Bosco Technical College with a certificate in architectural drafting. He received a degree in advertising art from Santo Tomas University in Manila. Mr. Espinosa worked for seven years in various fields including advertising, software entertainment, and film before becoming a comic book author. He has been an illustrator for eight years. He came to San Antonio in 2001 to work full-time as a comic book editor and illustrator.

Mr. Espinosa is recognized for his work on graphic novels including The Courageous Princess, Battle Girlz, and a manga adaptation of Alice in Wonderland. For his graphic novel, The Courageous Princess (Antarctic Press), he was nominated for the 2000 Ignatz Award in two categories, "Promising New Talent" and "Best Artist". The Ignatz Award recognizes outstanding achievements in comics and cartooning. Mr. Espinosa was also nominated for the 2002 Eisner Award for "Best Title for Younger Readers" for The Courageous Princess. The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are considered the "Oscars" of the comic book industry.

Mr. Espinosa’s illustrations will be featured in a series of American History comic books on George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Lewis and Clark, the Boston Tea Party, the Alamo, and Patrick Henry. Mr. Espinosa has said that he likes being an illustrator because he likes keeping his own hours. He actually works more hours than normal, but he gets to decide when and where, which is a good trade-off.

Selected Titles by Rod Espinosa

  • The Battle of the Alamo
  • New Alice in Wonderland Pocket Manga
  • Battle Girlz series
  • Chronicles of the Universe
  • The Courageous Princess
  • For Eternity series
  • How To Draw Manga
  • MetaDocs series
  • Neotopia series
  • DragonPro series
  • DinoWars series
Page last modified: August 12, 2011