The Continuing Education Advisory Committee represents diverse types of libraries and all areas of the state, and plays an active role in helping to shape library staff development and outreach by:

  • Providing input about both library staff and end user needs in Texas
  • Participating in the development of the annual CE plan that includes recommendations for staff development programs and topics and/or identification of competencies
  • Representing the point of view of the constituency each member represents
  • Acting as a communication link between the Library Development & Networking Division staff and the Texas library community
  • Providing annual feedback via a liaison to the TexShare Advisory Board on instruction and outreach for the TexShare programs, specifically.

Fiscal Year 2014 Continuing Education Plan (pdf)

Current members:

Jennifer Bekker (1st term expires 8/14)
Adult Services Supervisor
Lewisville Public Library
Lewisville, TX

Nichole Boone (2nd term expires 8/13)
Reference Librarian
Spring Creek Campus
Collin College
Plano, TX

Cynthia Peterson (1st term expires 8/13)
Director of Library Services
East Texas Baptist University
Marshall, TX

Paige Delaney (1st term expires 8/14)
Alpine Public Library
Alpine, TX

Mary Perroni (2nd term expires 8/13)
Library Director
Friendswood Public Library
Friendswood, TX

Advising Members:

Ted Wanner (indefinite term)
Continuing Education Specialist
Texas Library Association

Texas State Library & Archives Liaison:

Thea Quinn Blair
Manager, Continuing Education & Consulting

Merry Bortz (2nd term expires 8/13)
Head of Library Automation Services
Del Mar College
Corpus Christi, TX

Kimberly Gay (2nd term expires 8/13)
Reference and Instruction Librarian
John B. Coleman Library
Prairie View A&M University
Prairie View, TX

Sarah Tusa (2nd term expires 8/13)
Associate Professor, Coordinator of Collection Development & Acquisitions
Lamar University
Beaumont, TX

Geeta Halley (1st term expires 8/14)
Public Services Manager
Round Rock Public Library
Round Rock, TX

Elizabeth Glass, MLS (1st term expires 8/14)
South Plains College
Lubbock, TX 79416

Adam Wright (1st term expires 8/14)
Assistant Director
Fort Worth Public Library
Fort Worth, TX





Page last modified: December 12, 2013
Top of Page