The Continuing Education Advisory Committee represents diverse types of libraries and all areas of the state, and plays an active role in helping to shape library staff development and outreach by:

  • Providing input about both library staff and end user needs in Texas
  • Participating in the development of the annual CE plan that includes recommendations for staff development programs and topics and/or identification of competencies
  • Representing the point of view of the constituency each member represents
  • Acting as a communication link between the Library Development & Networking Division staff and the Texas library community
  • Providing annual feedback via a liaison to the TexShare Advisory Board on instruction and outreach for the TexShare programs, specifically.

Fiscal Year 2014 Continuing Education Plan (pdf)

Current members:

Suzanne Beckett (1st term expires 8/15)
Department Head, Library Liaison Program
University of Texas at Arlington Library
Arlington, TX
sbeckett@uta.edu

Jennifer Bekker (1st term expires 8/14)
Adult Services Supervisor
Denton Public Library
Denton, TX
jennifer.bekker@cityofdenton.com

Carolyn Brewer (1st term expires 8/15)
Public Service Librarian, J. Ardis Bell Library
Tarrant County College
Hurst, TX
carolyn.brewer@tccd.edu

Paige Delaney (1st term expires 8/14)
Director
Alpine Public Library
Alpine, TX
alpinepl@sbcglobal.net

Geeta Halley (1st term expires 8/14)
Public Services Manager
Round Rock Public Library
Round Rock, TX
ghalley@round-rock.tx.us

Sheila Ross Henderson (1st term expires 8/15)
Head Librarian
Austin Community College, Round Rock
Round Rock, TX
shender1@austincc.edu

Sarah A. Hjeltness (1st term expires 8/15)
Technical Services & Systems Librarian
El Paso Public Library
El Paso, TX
hjeltnessa@elpasotexas.gov

Advising Member:

Ted Wanner (indefinite term)
Continuing Education Specialist
Texas Library Association
tedw@txla.org

Texas State Library & Archives Commission Liaison:

Thea Quinn Blair
Manager, Continuing Education & Consulting
thea.blair@tsl.texas.gov
512-936-4449
 

Grace Lillevig (1st term expires 8/15)
eBranch Librarian
Harris County Public Library
Houston, TX
grace_lillevig@hcpl.net

Telishia Long (1st term expires 8/15)
Library Director
La Marque Public Library
La Marque, TX
t.long@ci.la-marque.tx.us

Mikail McIntosh-Doty (term expires 8/15)
Director of Library Services
Concordia Texas Library
Austin, TX
mikail.doty@concordia.edu

Andrea Weddle (term expires 8/15)
Head of Special Collections and Archives, James Gee Library
Texas A&M University, Commerce
Commerce, TX
andrea.weddle@tamuc.edu

Bobbie J. Williams (term expires 8/15)
Reference & Instruction Librarian
University of Texas, Permian Basin
Odessa, TX
williams_b@utpb.edu

 

 

 

 

Page last modified: April 24, 2014
Top of Page