Deborah Littrell

Director of Library Development and Networking

TSLAC Welcomes New and Returning Members to Library Systems Act Advisory Board

Thursday, August 15, 2013 • Austin, TX • News Release

The Texas State Library and Archives Commission welcomes one new and one returning member to its Library Systems Act Advisory Board, which advises the commission on any matter related to the Texas Library Systems Act, including recommending changes in the "Rules for Administering the Library Systems Act," and recommendations regarding public libraries that appeal loss of accreditation.

The newest board member is Arnoldo Becho, director of the Mayor Joe V Sanchez Public Library in Weslaco. The library is part of the Hidalgo County Federated Library System, which serves almost 800,000 people in Hidalgo County, in the South Texas region. Mr. Becho has worked in libraries more than a decade. He has been the director of the Weslaco library for three years and was previously with the South Texas College library. He received his MLS from the University of North Texas.

Karen Baen, director of the libraries for Southwest Texas Junior College, will begin a second term on the board. The College’s main campus is in Uvalde, and there are branch campuses in Del Rio and Eagle Pass. Ms. Baen has a MLS from the University of North Texas and has been with the college for twelve years, the last five years as director.

Their terms will begin on September 1, 2013. Mr. Becho replaces Kerry McGeath, Director of Southlake Public Library. We are grateful for Mr. McGeath’s leadership and service to Texas libraries and the board.