Deborah Littrell

Director of Library Development and Networking

TSLAC Welcomes New Members to TexShare Advisory Board

Thursday, August 15, 2013 • Austin, TX • News Release

The Texas State Library and Archives Commission welcomes new members to its TexShare Advisory Board, which advises the commission on matters relating to the consortium of Texas libraries known as TexShare. The consortium shares print and electronic materials, purchases online resources, and combines staff expertise. The new TexShare board members are:

Nancy Hill, Associate Library Director for Technical Services at the University of Texas at El Paso. She has a Master of Arts in Library Science from Michigan State University. Prior to working at UTEP, she was library director at Effat College in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, library director at Cottey College in Nevada, Missouri, and held positions in libraries in Egypt, Yemen, Virginia, Palestine, Virginia, and Michigan. She served on the long-range planning committee for Cottey College and on the committee that established the statewide library consortium in Missouri.

Stephanie Fulton, the director of the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Research Medical Library. She has a Master of Science in Information Science (MSIS) degree from the University of North Texas (UNT). Ms. Fulton served as both Assistant Library Director and Associate Library Director at MD Anderson prior to her appointment as Library Director. Previous to that she held positions at Ovid Technologies and Scott & White Memorial Hospital. Ms. Fulton is active in the Texas Library Association, the Medical Library Association (MLA), and the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (South Central Texas Chapter). She has held leadership positions in the library community and is an alumna of the TLA TALL Texan Leadership Institute. Her honors include the 2012 Department of Library & Information Science Outstanding Alumni Award (UNT) and MLA’s Estelle Brodman Award for Academic Medical Librarian of the Year in 2010.

Ms. Hill and Ms. Fulton will begin their terms on September 1, 2013, replacing departing board members, Dana Rooks, Dean of Libraries at the University of Houston and Laurie Thompson, Assistant Vice President for Library Services at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. We are grateful to Ms. Rooks and Ms. Thompson for the leadership and service they have provided to Texas libraries and to the board.