Texas Center for the Book Literacy Award 2017

A graphic of book pages in the background with the text Texas Center for the Book Literacy Award Nomination

A graphic with books in the background and the text "Midland Need to Read - TCFB Literacy Award Winner 2016

The Texas Center for the Book is seeking qualified non-profit organizations that have made outstanding contributions to increasing literacy in Texas for the 2017 Texas Center for the Book Literacy Award. The winning organization will receive a $1,000 cash award to assist in its future work promoting reading and combating illiteracy. This year, a honorable mention recipient will receive $500. The award provides public recognition to 501(c)(3) organizations committed to addressing the continuing need for literacy services and that increase public awareness of the importance of literacy

The nomination period for the 2017 Literacy Award is from June 1, 2017, through September 1, 2017. The 2017 Literacy Award winner will be announced during the 2nd Annual Texas Author Summit; kicking off the Texas Book Festival on Nov. 2, 2017.

Non-profit organizations whose primary purpose is to support and encourage literacy are eligible for the 2017 Literacy Award. Organizations may self-nominate for the award, or nominate partner non-profit organizations.

While this award promotes partnerships with libraries, please note that library friends organizations, public, school and academic libraries or other library entities are not eligible for nomination. These entities are highly encouraged to nominate literacy organizations within their local and/or regional communities.

Nomination forms must include one letter of reference and a statement of 500 words or less on the nominated program’s value and impact. Nominators are strongly encouraged to include examples of the nominated organization's partnerships with libraries. For more information on other Texas Center for the Book initiatives visit www.tsl.texas.gov/centerforthebook.

Nominated organizations are encouraged, but not required, to produce a two-minute video that highlights the impact of the nominated programming.

All nomination forms become the property of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission and may be used in whole or in part as informational or educational materials. The winning organization must provide documentation proving 501(c)(3) status.

For more information, contact Rebekah Manley, Texas Center for the Book Coordinator, Texas State Library and Archives Commission at rmanley@tsl.texas.gov or 512-936-2505.

Nomination Form

Contact information for nominated organization:

Contact information for nominator, if different than above:

* indicates required field

Page last modified: September 14, 2017