Texas Talking Book Program Appoints Ann Minner as New Director

Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Austin, TX

Austin, TX – Ann Minner has been named the new Director of the Texas Talking Book Program (TBP), a division of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC). Minner joins TSLAC from the Austin Public Library system, where she was a former branch manager. Minner brings more than 24 years of experience in library management and youth services in public libraries. She holds an MLIS degree from the University of Texas at Austin, where she was also an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Children’s Literature and Information Studies. 

 “I am so excited to reach out to potential patrons who may not know about the program yet,” Minner said. “My team is ready to share this amazing program with even more Texans.”

The Talking Book Program is well established throughout the state and nationally, and Minner would like to work to increase the percentage of Texans reached. She said, “We serve patrons of all ages and abilities and the sheer amount and variety of resources and services available to them is astounding. I see infinite potential and possibilities in the staff and partnerships we already have—so it is only a matter of time.”

The Talking Book Program is a free library service to Texans who are unable to read standard print due to a qualifying visual, physical or reading disability. For more information about the program visit www.TexasTalkingBooks.org.

For more information call 1-800-252-9605 or email tbp.services@tsl.texas.gov.


The Texas State Library and Archives Commission provides Texans access to the information needed to be informed, productive citizens by preserving the archival record of Texas; enhancing the service capacity of public, academic and school libraries; assisting public agencies in the maintenance of their records; and meeting the reading needs of Texans with disabilities. For more information, visit tsl.texas.gov.

Icon of a stack of newspapers
Susan floyd
Communications Officer
Page last modified: September 23, 2022