Texas State Library and Archives Commission Research Fellowship in Texas History

The Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) is now accepting applications for the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) Research Fellowship in Texas History. The fellowship includes a $2,000 stipend and is awarded for the best research proposal utilizing the collections of the State Archives in Austin.

The TSLAC Research Fellowship in Texas History is administered in partnership with TSHA and made possible by the generous support of the Texas Library and Archives Foundation.

The application must include the purpose of the proposed research, collections of interest, a description of the medium of the product of the research, a complete vita and why the fellowship is necessary to complete the project. The recipient of the fellowship may be asked to present the results of their research at a TSLAC event. The award will be announced at the TSHA’s annual meeting in El Paso in March 2023. Judges may withhold the award at their discretion. 
Visit www.tshaonline.org/awards/texas-state-library-and-archives-commission-research-fellowship-in-texas-history to apply by Nov. 15.

Past Recipients
2022    Andrew Busch, Caitlyn Jones and Christopher Phillips
2021    Leroy Myers Jr., Marc A. Molina and Bobby Cervantes
2020     Sheena Lee Cox and Micaela Valadez
2019     Maggie Elmore and Deborah Liles

Please contact our reference staff at 512-463-5455 or ref@tsl.texas.gov for information about archival collections that may support your project. Some descriptive guides (finding aids) are available online on the Archives & Manuscripts webpage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.