Rotating Images of Texas Libraries

"My alma mater was books, a good library .. I could spend the rest of my life reading, just satisfying my curiosity." -- Malcolm X

Back to Search Page

Search Results Library Name:  Southwestern University
Library Type:  Academic - 4 Year Private
Address:  P.O. Box 770,  Georgetown, TX 78627-770   Map it!
County: Williamson

Phone:  (512) 863-1561
E-mail:  Contact by Email

Elected Officials

TexShare Member:  Yes
    Most Recent TexShare Participation Summary Report
TexShare Databases Program:  Yes
TexShare CARD Program:  Yes
    See TexShare Card Lending Policy
TExpress Courier:  Yes
    See Courier HUB and Site# Address Codes

Hide Details


Back to Search Page

Lending Policy for Southwestern University

Contact Information:
Name: Jeanette Holliday
Phone: (512) 863-1563
Fax: (512) 863-8198
E-mail: Contact by Email

Limitations: Must be 18 years of age or older. Card grants Main collection borrowing privileges only. Up to 10 items can be charged out to the card at a time. Does not include access to media materials, Interlibrary Loan Services or to most online services.

Eligibility: To apply for an A. Frank Smith, Jr. Library Center borrower's card, present a valid TexShare library card and photo identification at the Circulation Desk and fill out a TexShare Patron Registration form.

Hours: Library hours fluctuate with the academic calendar and are updated regularly on the library's website.

During the academic term, the library closes to the public at 9 p.m. Call Information Services at (512) 863-1563 for more information.

Card Availability: Cards are only issued between 8 a.m. and 4:45 p.m. Monday through Friday, or 1 p.m. to 5:45 p.m. Saturday, when a Supervisor is on duty. Student assistants are not authorized to issue cards. Applications completed on Sunday or after hours will be processed as soon as possible, but could be subject to a waiting period of up to 24 hours. Cards for students and part-time faculty expire at the end of each Southwestern University semester or at the expiration date on the TexShare card, whichever is shorter, and can be renewed at the start of the following semester. Faculty and staff cards expire annually at the end of the Spring semester or at the expiration date on the TexShare card, whichever is shorter. Public borrower cards are issued for a period of one year or to the expiration date on the TexShare card, whichever is shorter.

Renewals: Materials that have not been recalled or placed on hold may be renewed once, either in person or by calling Information Services at (512) 863-1563. Items that are overdue cannot be renewed by phone but must be renewed in person.

Returns: Borrowers are responsible for returning materials by the due date/time. Library items are the responsibility of the borrower until checked in at the Information Desk. If materials cannot be returned by the borrower in person, mail to the following address:

US Mail:
Information Services
A. Frank Smith, Jr. Library Center
Southwestern University
P.O. Box 770
Georgetown, Texas 78627-0770

Overdues: The library is not responsible for notifying borrowers that items are overdue. Notices are generally sent out as a courtesy.

Recalls: All items are subject to recall. If an item is recalled, the due date specified on the recall notice replaces the original due date. Fines for overdue recall items are $1.00 per day.

Non_Circ_Items: Includes, but is not limited to, reference, periodicals, microforms and reserves. Special Collections and Media Library materials do not circulate.

Loan Policies: Faculty: End of Spring semester
Part-time faculty: Semester
Students, staff and public: 3 weeks

Fines: Fine rates are assessed per item, with a $20.00 maximum overdue fine per item. Fees for damaged items can exceed $20.00. Borrowing privileges are suspended while items remain overdue or fines unpaid. Main collection materials: $0.25 per day Recalled items: $1.00 per day Damaged materials: Assessed per condition of item. Depending on damage, fines can range from a minimum $5.00 repair fee to replacement cost for the item.

Lost Items: Maximum overdue fine of $20.00 plus the replacement cost of the item. If the replacement cost cannot be determined, a default replacement cost of $35.00 plus the $20.00 fine is assessed. An item is declared lost if it has not been returned 60 days after the due date.

Billing: Payment is due upon billing. Payment is made at the Circulation Desk of the library. Borrowing privileges are suspended until payment is received.

Additional: Payment is due upon billing. Payment is made at the library's Information Desk. Borrowing privileges are suspended until payment is received

(updated 7/10/2013)



Back to Search Page

Back to Top

Top of Page