Rotating Images of Texas Libraries

"My alma mater was books, a good library .. I could spend the rest of my life reading, just satisfying my curiosity." -- Malcolm X

Back to Search Page

Search Results Library Name:  University of Texas at Arlington
Library Type:  Academic - 4 Year Public
Address:  Box 19497,  Arlington, TX 76019-497   Map it!
County: Tarrant

Phone:  (817) 272-3395
E-mail:  Contact by Email

Elected Officials

TexShare Member:  Yes
    Most Recent TexShare Value Report
TexShare Databases Program:  Yes
TexShare CARD Program:  Yes
    See TexShare Card Lending Policy
TExpress Courier:  Yes
    See Courier HUB and Site# Address Codes

Hide Details

Back to Search Page

Lending Policy for University of Texas at Arlington

Contact Information:
Name: Margaret Samson
Phone: (817) 272-6322
E-mail: Contact by Email

Limitations: TexShare card holders are allowed to have up to 5 items checked out on their card at a time. The loan period is 21 days (with the exception of some special items) with the potential for 2 renewals. To check out materials the patron must have the UTA library card generated when they initially applied for the card and a photo ID. For card holders under 18, they must also have a parental consent form on file (see "Eligibility" for further information).

Eligibility: First time TexShare borrowers must go to the Central Library circulation desk to get their UTA library card. They must present a current TexShare Card from their home library as well as a photo I.D. Once their UTA library card is issued they may use that card at any of the 3 UTA libraries. Each time they wish to check out materials they must have a photo I.D. and their UTA library card. Minors (persons under 18) with a TexShare card from a public library must also have their parent or guardian complete a consent form for UTA's files, before privileges can be initiated.


Fall/Spring/Summer Session

Mon-Thurs: 7am - midnight/all patrons
After midnight access restricted to UTA faculty, staff and students
Fri: 7am - pm
Sat: 10am - 8pm
Sun: 9am - midnight/all patrons
After midnight access restricted to UTA faculty, staff and students

Branch library hours vary. Hours may change during finals, holidays, spring break and intersessions. Check the UTA Libraries homepage for the most current information.

Card Availability: Applications for TexShare cards are accepted each day that the Central Library is open, up until 10 minutes before the Library closes or before access is restricted to UTA patrons only. For public library participants, undergraduate and master level students and staff, cards are valid until the end of the current semester or until the date indicated by the issuing library. Cards are valid until August 31st for faculty and doctoral students.

Renewals: You may bring in the materials you wish to have renewed to any of the 3 UTA Libraries. Self renewal is also available through the online catalog:PULSe you can request a renewal online, e-mail or voice mail (817-272-3224).TexShare card holders are allowed 2 renewals on most materials.

Returns: Materials checked from any of the 3 libraries may be returned to any of the 3 libraries. Each location has an after-hours book drop.

Overdues: 2 overdue notices are sent to patrons by mail. Standard books are billed to the patron as lost once they become 60 days overdue. At that point, the patron is charged at $35 processing fee, a book replacement charge, and the maximum fine of $15 for each book.

Recalls: An item may be recalled for use by a UTA patron. When this happens a notice is generated for the person who has the book checked out, indicating that the book is needed back. The due date on the book will change and special recall fine of $2.00 a day will be incurred if the new due date is not met.

Non_Circ_Items: Reference materials, periodicals, microforms, 16MM film, items in Special Collections.

Loan Policies: See "Limitations" above. Complete circulation policies can be found at

Fines: Standard books have a $.25 a day overdue fine. Some specialized materials, 2 hour, 24 hour, 3 day, and 7 day items for example, have a higher fine rate ranging from $.02 a minute to $1.20 a day.

Lost Items: Items billed to lost incur a replacement fee cost (the market value of the book), a processing fee of $35.00 and any overdue fines that have accrued.

Billing: Billing is done through the University's Bursar's Office and they bill on a monthly basis usually within the first week of the month. They then expect payment within 30 days. An unpaid bill will eventually result in additional late fees being added to the charges and the potential for the case being handed over to a collection agent.

Additional: Receipts for returned materials are available at the time you turn in your books during the hours the 3 libraries are open.

Back to Search Page

Back to Top

Top of Page