Jump to navigation
Back to Search Page
Lending Policy for University of Texas at Dallas
Library Card Contact
E-mail: Contact by Email
Obtaining a TexShare Card: Current University of Texas at Dallas students, staff, and faculty may apply for a TexShare card in person at the Eugene McDermott Library's Services desk or by using the online application form. Users who apply online must pick up their TexShare card in person.
Using a TexShare Card: Academic borrowers must present a current Texas university ID card and a valid Texas driver's license or Texas identification card and TexShare card. Public borrowers must be at least 18 years of age and present a valid Texas driver's license or Texas identification card in addition to their TexShare card. For public library borrowers, cards are valid until the date indicated by the issuing library. For academic library borrowers including students, staff, and faculty, cards are valid until the end of the current semester.
Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday, 7am to 11pmSaturday - Sunday, 8am to 11pmNote: Hours listed are for visitors. For hours during holiday and intersession periods, call 972-883-2955.
Loan Policies: TexShare borrowers may check out up to 5 books at a time. Most books check out for 21 days and can be renewed six times. Failure to return items will result in a loss of privileges.
Restrictions and Limitations: Only circulating collections are available to TexShare borrowers. Privileges do not extend to Interlibrary Loan, reserves, Special Collections, other non-circulating materials, or access to electronic resources restricted by licensing agreements.
Renewals: Renew in person, by e-mail, or by telephone.
Returns: TexShare borrowers are responsible for returning materials by the due date of the material. These materials must be returned either in person or by first class mail. Late fees will be assessed for materials received after the due date.
Recalls: All materials are subject to recall. If an item is recalled, the recall due date on the notice replaces the original due date. Higher fines are in effect for overdue recalled items. A notice will be emailed.
Non-Circulating Items: Reference and law materials, periodicals, special collections items, some government documents, reserve items, microforms, maps, and other non-circulating items.
Overdue Reminders: Overdue notices are sent by email. The UT- Dallas Libraries send overdue notices as a courtesy and accept no responsibility for the late or non-delivery of a notice.
Fines and Fees: Most books have a $.50 per day overdue fine policy, with a $30 maximum. Recalled books have an overdue fine of $1 per day.
Lost Items: Items that overdue for 60 days or more will be declared lost, at which time borrowers are responsible for the $30 overdue fine, $25 processing fee, and the cost of the book.
Billing Information: Bills are due upon receipt. Lost book bills more than 90 days late are referred to collection agencies.
Notes, Comments, Additional Information: For more information about our policies, visit http://www.utdallas.edu/library/about-the-library/library-policies/.