Jump to navigation
Back to Search Page
Lending Policy for University of North Texas
Name: Mary Ann Venner
Phone: (940) 565-2413
E-mail: Contact by Email
Limitations: Checkout privileges to the General Circulating Collection only are granted to TexShare card holders 18 years and older. Privileges do not extend to InterLibrary Loan, reserves, media, special collections, other non-circulating material or access to electronic resources restricted by licensing agreements. Many library materials can be used within the Libraries; restrictions apply primarily to checkout privileges. Academic TexShare users have a 3 week checkout with no limit to the numbers of items checked out or the number or renewals. Public library TexShare borrowers may checkout up to 5 items for 3 weeks with one renewal per item permitted. Loan privileges are suspended for borrowers with overdue material or unpaid fines.
Eligibility: TexShare card holders should apply for borrowing privileges at the first floor Library Services Desk in Willis Library by presenting a current/valid TexShare card and a photo ID. A registration form must be completed. Both initial application and renewal of library privileges must be made in person. A courtesy card will be issued which must be presented along with a photo id to check out materials. The TexShare Library card cannot be used by itself to check out materials.
Hours are subject to change during holiday and intersession periods.
Card Availability: Application for borrowing privileges may be made anytime at the first floor Library Services Desk in Willis Library when the desk is open. Privileges for TexShare card holders will expire at the end of the current semester they were issued, or earlier, depending on the expiration date on the TexShare card. Exception: Privileges for UNT faculty will expire at the end of the current fiscal year. Renewal of privileges for the next semester is done by presenting a new, valid TexShare card and a valid photo ID. A review of the patron record will be made at that time to be sure the current address is on record and other information is current.
Renewals: Material may be renewed as long as it is not overdue, on hold, recalled, has no renewal restrictions, and the borrower has a valid/ current courtesy card and has not been blocked. Academic TexShare borrowers have no limitations on the number of times an item may be renewed except as stated above. Public TexShare borrowers are limited to 1 renewal per item. Renewal may be done by bringing the items to a service desk, by e-mail, or by accessing the Accounts Login tab on the library homepage.
Returns: TexShare borrowers are responsible for returning materials by the due date of the material. These materials must be returned either in person or by 1st class mail. Late fees will be assessed for materials received after the due date.
Materials returned by 1st class mail should be sent to the following address:
Access Services Department
University of North Texas Libraries
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, Texas 76203-5190
UPS EXPRESS MAIL:
University of North Texas Libraries
Attn: Access Services Department
1506 Highland St.
Overdues: A courtesy notice is emailed 3 days before materials are due, however, it is the responsibility of the borrower to return materials by the due date. Overdue notices are mailed when an item is 7 days overdue, 14 days overdue, 21 days overdue and when the item has reached a billed status.
Recalls: All materials are subject to recall. If an item is recalled, the recall due date on the notice replaces the original due date. Higher fines are in effect for overdue recalled items. A notice will be emailed.
Non_Circ_Items: Items which do not circulate include, but are not necessarily limited to, the following: periodicals, reference materials, microforms, special collections, media, and material with a "Non-Circulation" sticker.
Loan Policies: All loans to TexShare borrowers for the general circulating collection are for 3 weeks. Academic TexShare borrowers are not restricted to numbers of items that may be checked out. Public library TexShare borrowers are limited to 5 items.
Fines: Regular circulating material: $.35 per day per item Recalled materials: $2.00 per day per item Damaged material: Cost is determined by the extent of damage and what can be done, if anything, to repair it.
Lost Items: An item is considered "lost" if it is 30 days overdue. The lost item fee is $100.
Billing: Payment of overdue fines and for lost materials may be paid at the first floor Library Services Desk, Willis Library, during the service desk's hours of operation. Borrowing privileges will be suspended for the following reasons: (1) materials are overdue 30 days or more; (2) a recalled book has not been returned; (3) library notices are returned undeliverable because of an incorrect email address, and (4) a bill or fine has not been paid. Notification will also be sent to the borrower's home library requesting suspension of library privileges there until the problem has been resolved.