Jump to navigation
Back to Search Page
Lending Policy for University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth
Library Card Contact
Phone: (817) 735-2465
E-mail: Contact by Email
Obtaining a TexShare Card: Apply for borrowing privileges at the Lewis Library circulation desk from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Present your unexpired TexShare card and a photo ID (driver's license or school ID), and also fill out an application form. Expired TexShare cards will not be honored.
Using a TexShare Card: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Hours of Operation: The library is open to the public during the following hours:Sunday10 a.m - 9 p.m.Monday-Thursday7 a.m. - 9 p.m.Friday7 a.m - 9 p.m.Check the library website for holiday hours or call 817-735-2465.
Loan Policies: Borrowing is limited to 10 items. Loan periods vary by item type, ranging from two hours to 14 days. Eligible items may be renewed up to 3 times if no holds have been placed on the item.
Restrictions and Limitations: Borrowing privileges are granted to faculty and students of colleges and universities, and to public library card holders age 18 and older. TexShare cards do not provide access to other library services such as interlibrary loan or electronic resources restricted by licensing agreements. The library's computer labs and study rooms are reserved for students and faculty of the Health Science Center. Item limit: 10Account blocks: Long overdue items, unpaid fines, fines over $15.Renewals: Up to 3 for eligible items.Fines: $0.50/day to $5.00/hr. depending on item type.
Renewals: Renewals for eligible items may be requested in-person, phone, online catalog and email.Mailing address: Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth 3500 Camp Bowie Blvd. Fort Worth, Texas 76107
Returns: Returns should be made in-person or through the book drop located on the Northwest side of the library building.UPS EXPRESS MAIL: Same as above.
Recalls: Renewals for eligible items may be requested in-person, phone, online catalog and email.If an item has been recalled, an email notice will be sent. Items not returned by the new due date, will be charged $1.00 per day in fines until returned.
Non-Circulating Items: Journals, reference books, reserve items, special collections materials, computers and software, cameras, popular videos, selected equipment and models.
Overdue Reminders: Courtesy reminder notices, overdue notices and fines and fee notices are sent by email.
Fines and Fees: Privileges are suspended if an item is long overdue or if the patron owes more than $15 to the library. Fines vary from $0.50/day to $1.00/hr, depending on the item type.
Lost Items: Damaged or unreturned items are billed at replacement cost plus a $30 processing fee. Bills are issued after two overdue notices have been sent.
Billing Information: Bills are due upon receipt. Payments may be made by mail or in person, or over the phone in the form of cash, check, money order, credit or debit card. Checks should be made payable to Lewis Library, UNTHSC.
Notes, Comments, Additional Information: Further information is available from the Circulation Desk, 817-735-2465 or from the library's Policies page.(updated 3/25/2014)