Jump to navigation
See Branches For This Library
Back to Search Page
Lending Policy for Dallas Public Library
Library Card Contact
Phone: (214) 670-7933
E-mail: Contact by Email
Obtaining a TexShare Card: Application is made at the circulation desk at any Dallas Public Library location. Card is for a period of 6 months. Photo identification and address verifications required.
Using a TexShare Card: Card may be renewed after 6 months, if in good standing.
Hours of Operation: Central Library: Monday, Friday, Saturday 10am - 6pm; Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 10am-8pm; Sunday 1pm-5pm Branch Libraries:47 hours per week, schedules vary.
Loan Policies: Books: 21 days (some 14 days)DVDs/VHS: 7 daysCDs and cassette tapes: 21 days
Restrictions and Limitations: No more than 5 items may be borrowed at one time. No non-circulating items may be borrowed. No current materials (anything received within the last 6 months) may be borrowed.
Renewals: Materials may be renewed:- in person- by telephone- self-service with library card number and PIN
Returns: Materials can be returned to any Dallas Public Library location. All locations have an outside materials return for after hours returns.MAIL RETURN: Returns by mail should be addressed to:Central Circulation Services DivisionDallas Public Library1515 Young StreetDallas, Texas 75201-5499EXPRESS MAIL: Same as U.S. Mail address
Recalls: If a request has been placed on an item, it will not be renewed. It will be recalled to fill the request.
Non-Circulating Items: Reference,Fine books,Genealogy,some Government Documents,Current materials, Archival materials, most periodical titles.
Overdue Reminders: Sent by email, if provided by borrower: otherwise, reminders are sent by mail.
Fines and Fees: All late charges are per item per day including holidays and closed daysBooks: 30 centsDVDs/VHS: $1.00CDs and cassette tapes: $1.00
Lost Items: An item is declared lost when it is 21 days overdue. Charge is for the cost of the item plus $28.00 processing fee.
Billing Information: Bills are due upon receipt. Card privileges immediately revoked. Patron accounts of $35 or more and 55 days overdue, including fines and assumed lost items are referred to a collection agency and a $20 collection fee is added to the account.Payment at all DPL locations and by mail to: Circulation ServicesDallas Public Library1515 Young StreetDallas, Texas 75201-5499
Notes, Comments, Additional Information: Account must be in good standing for all borrower services (check-out, renewal, etc.)