Triumph and Tragedy: Presidents of the Republic of Texas

For Further Reading

David G. Burnet

David G. Burnet, by Mary Whatley Clarke. Pemberton Press, 1969.

Legendary Texians, by Joe Tom Davis. Eakin Press, 1982.

"David Gouverneur Burnet," Southwestern Historical Quarterly 49 (October 1945).

Handbook of Texas article

Mirabeau B. Lamar

Thunder Beyond the Brazos, by Jack C. Ramsay, Jr. Eakin Press, 1985.

The Borderland, by Edwin Shrake (novel). Hyperion, 2000.

Handbook of Texas article

Sam Houston

Sam Houston, by James L. Haley. University of Oklahoma Press, 2002.

Sam Houston, by John Hoyt Williams. Simon & Schuster, 1993.

Sam Houston, by Clifford Hopewell. Eakin Press, 1987.

Sword of San Jacinto, by Marshall de Bruhl. Random House, 1993.

Handbook of Texas article

Sam Houston Memorial Museum

Anson Jones

Anson Jones: The Last President of Texas, by Herbert Pickens Gambrell. University of Texas Press, 1964.

Memoranda and official correspondence relating to the Republic of Texas, its history and annexation, by Anson Jones. Arno Press, 1973 (reprint: originally published 1859).

Handbook of Texas article

Barrington Living History Farm

Page last modified: March 24, 2015