School Library Programs: Standards and Guidelines for Texas

Texas Administrative Code, Title 13. Cultural Resources
Part I. Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Chapter 4. School Library Programs -  § 4.1

The Texas State Library and Archives Commission is directed to develop voluntary School Library Standards in Texas Education Code 33.021. Added by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 260, § 1, eff. May 30, 1995.

School Library Program Standards 2018 (PDF)

Revised and adopted by the Texas State Library and Archives Commissioners on March 9, 2018. The revised standards establish guidelines for school library programs at five levels: distinguished, accomplished, proficient, developing, and improvement needed.

School Library Program Standards Supplemental Resources and Crosswalks

See also: Guidance for School Libraries on Collection Development (PDF)

AASL 2017 National School Library Standards

School Library Program Standards 2018 Revision Process

Page last modified: June 6, 2022