Archival Awards 

The Texas Historical Records Advisory Board (THRAB) is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2023 Archival Awards. The Archival Award of Excellence (Institutional) has been awarded to the William J. Hill Texas Artisans and Artists Archive. The Archival Award of Excellence (Individual) recipient is Robert Weaver (Texas Tech University). This year’s David B. Gracy II Award for Distinguished Archival Service has been awarded to Monte L. Monroe. Read the full press release here

  Questions? Send inquiries to

Past Recipients:

David B. Gracy II Distinguished Archival Service Award
This award recognizes an individual, archival institution, education program, or nonprofit/government organization that has provided outstanding leadership, service or contribution to the archives profession in Texas.


Society of Southwest Archivists 


David B. Gracy II

Advocacy for Archives Award
This award acknowledges an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to ensure the preservation and availability of the historical record of Texas.


Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO)


Melleta Bell, Senior Archivist (retired), Archives of the Big Bend, Sul Ross University


Hogg Foundation for Mental Health

Archival Award of Excellence
This award recognizes significant achievements in preserving and improving access to historical records in any format by a Texas archival institution and individual achievements.


Institution: Harry Ransom Center


Individual: Kaitlyn Price, Registrar, Dallas Historical Society


Individual: Travis Williams, Archivist and Special Collections Librarian, St. Edwards University

Institution: Texas Archive of the Moving Image (TAMI) 


Institution: C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections, UTEP Library (El Paso, TX)

THRAB Coordinator, Jelain Chubb (center) presents the award to Head of Special Collections, Claudia Rivers 
(right) and Assistant Head of Special Collections, Abbie Weiser (left). UTEP's Special Collections received the award
for their Casasola Project, which included a crowdsourcing effort to identify individuals in photos. 

Individual: Brenda Lincke Fisseler, Lavaca County Archives

Lavaca County Clerk, Elizabeth Kouba (left), Archival Award of Excellence recipient Brenda Lincke Fisseler (center),
and THRAB Coordinator, Jelain Chubb (right) at the award ceremony held at the Lavaca County Courthouse Annex
in Halletsville. Photo by Jimmy Appelt.

[Press Release]


Institution: Special Collections, University Libraries , University of North Texas (Denton, TX)

Morgan Gieringer, Head, Special Collections at UNT Libraries and THRAB member Linda Barrett
at the 2018 DFW Archives Bazaar. Barrett  presented the Archival Award of Excellence to Gieringer
for their NBC5/KXAS (WBAP) Television News Archive Project.


Institution: Austin History Center (Austin, TX)
Individual: Susan Smith Dorsey, Texas General Land Office (Austin, TX)


Institution:  West Texas Collection, Angelo State University (San Angelo, TX)
Individual: Malinda Allison, Honey Grove Preservation League (Honey Grove, TX)
Page last modified: October 5, 2023